Americans need the Congress of Tomorrow

Our government was created for the people, but as Congress continues down a dysfunctional path, it fails to serve us, the American people. Americans depend on their representatives to be their voice in Congress, but as partisan politics force crisis after crisis, lawmakers are unable to fulfill this responsibility. The public is losing faith: only 17% approve of the job Congress is doing.  

That’s why Bipartisan Policy Center Action created the Congress of Tomorrow movement – to demand a committee that would drive institutional reforms to avoid partisan-driven crises, encourage responsible budgeting, and once again respond to the immediate needs of the everyday lives of Americans.   

We made major strides in 2018: people across the country sent more than 27,600 letters to Capitol Hill calling for this new committee.  And Congress heard the cry: House Rules Committee Chairman Rep. Jim McGovern included such a committee in his draft Rules package for the 116th Congress, and the entire House of Representatives approved what it calls a Select Committee on the Modernization of Congress by a vote of XXX.  Now, at this critical juncture, it is time to ensure this committee is set up to succeed and that its recommendations are acted upon so that it can make Congress work for us once again.  

A Congress of Tomorrow—one capable of solving problems and producing results —is on the horizon. Let’s make certain it crosses the finish line by pressing Congress to give the Select Committee on the Modernization of Congress the tools and the teeth it requires. 

*Supporters are engaged with this project on an educational basis and are not involved in direct or grassroot advocacy.

Legislative Support

Sponsor: Darin Lahood (R-IL)

Sponsor: Dan Lipinski (D-IL)

Bradley Byrne (R-AL)

Kyrsten Sinema (D-AZ)

Tom O'Halleran (D-AZ)

Scott Peters (D-CA)

Juan Vargas (D-CA)

Jared Huffman (D-CA)

David Loebsack (D-CA)

Jim Costa (D-CA)

Jeff Denham (R-CA)

David Valadao (R-CA)

J Luis Correa (D-CA)

Julia Brownley (D-CA)

Salud Carbajal (D-CA)

Ro Khanna (D-CA)

Doug LaMalfa (R-CA)

Darrell Issa (R-CA)

Mike Coffman (R-CO)

Ken Buck (R-CO)

Stephanie Murphy (D-FL)

Debbie Wasserman-Schultz (D-FL)

Carlos Curbelo (R-FL)

Thomas Rooney (R-FL)

Barry Loudermilk (R-GA)

Raja Krishnamoorthi (D-IL)

Randy Hultgren (R-IL)

Adam Kinzinger (R-IL)

Mike Bost (R-IL)

Peter Roskam (R-IL)

Rodney Davis (R-IL)

Susan Brooks (R-IN)

Luke Messer (R-IN)

David Young (R-IA)

Kevin Yoder (R-KS)

Garret Graves (R-LA)

Seth Moulton (D-MA)

John Moolenaar (R-MI)

Jack Bergman (R-MI)

Fred Upton (R-MI)

Bill Huizenga (R-MI)

Timothy Walz (D-MN)

Don Bacon (R-NE)

Albio Sires (D-NJ)

Josh Gottheimer (D-NJ)

Leonard Lance (R-NJ)

Tom Reed (R-NY)

Daniel Donovan, Jr. (R-NY)

Elise Stefanik (R-NY)

John Faso (R-NY)

David Rouzer (R-NC)

James Renacci (R-OH)

David Joyce (R-OH)

Warren Davidson (R-OH)

Brian Fitzpatrick (R-PA)

Lloyd Smucker (R-PA)

Matt Cartwright (D-PA)

Charles Dent (R-PA)

Jim Cooper (D-TN)

Scott DesJarlais (R-TN)

Marc Veasey (D-TX)

Beto O'Rourke (D-TX)

Mac Thornberry (R-TX)

Joe Barton (R-TX)

Denny Heck (D-WA)

Morgan Griffith (R-VA)

Mike Gallager (R-WI)

Ron Kind (D-WI)

Former Members of Congress

Tom Tauke (R-IA)

Dan Glickman (D-KS)

Mickey Edwards (R-OK)

Charles A. Gonzalez (D-TX)

Olympia Snowe (R-ME)

Dennis Hertel (D-MI)

Majority Leader Trent Lott (R-MS)

Martin Lancaster (D-NC)

Dave Hobson (R-OH)

Bob Walker (R-PA)

Majority Leader Tom Daschle (D-SD)

Community Supporters

Is Congress Working for You?